Words on my addictions: .NET, Philosophy, Music

19 August 2005

C# Api for UCL algorithm

Filed under: C# — stefanprodan @ 6:51 pm

UCL is a portable lossless data compression library written in ANSI C by Markus F.X.J. Oberhumer, it can be found on his site. When I first tried the System.IO.Compression of the new 2.0 Framework I was not happy, the compression is ok with text input but nothing more. So in looking for a new compression algorithm beside #ziplib I’ve found oberhumer.com. I must say that for me it was a great thing the algorithms that oberhumer made are much faster and with a better compression ration then all free or commercial algorithms. I am not a C or C++ programmer but I can understand the logic, so I decided to make a C# Api, an interface between the C library and my .NET applications. For now I’ve used Ucl in a SOA project, with web services and windows services that are made for sql data replication. The data is archived and then encrypted with Ucl before sending it on the web. The Api is not fully done, still beta but with some help and free time I’ll finish it. In my next posts I’ll share some code and ideas.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

